Grá na Gaeilge Iowa Irish Arts

Grá na Gaeilge Iowa Irish Arts

Comments

So excited about this and had to share. I look for this show every year, and I've driven 5 hours each way to see it. Michael Londra's stunning voice (he was the voice of "Riverdance" on Broadway) with world class Irish dancers and musicians. Tickets at www.michaellondra.com. If you can go, don't miss it. Really.
I am working on a manuscript as part of my never ending pursuit of a master's degree. It will be titled Leigheasanna & Pisreóga and based a lot on the volunteer transcription work I am doing for the Irish Folklore Commission right now, but I also have some Scottish sources.

I am going to end with a look at how these traditions migrated to the US and evolved and am hoping that some of you might share some old remedies, traditions, or even just lore that has been passed down in your family. It's boring to just quote my own.

go raibh maith agat , ceud taing, thanks

Promoting traditional Irish dance, music, language, heritage, arts, & Celtic culture in Iowa City area. Sláinte!

Operating as usual

Champagne Irish Dance Apparel 09/22/2021

Champagne Irish Dance Apparel

Champagne Irish Dance Apparel Champagne Irish Dance Apparel

05/01/2021

It's that time of the year again :) I've just left our May flowers on the front doorstep. This old Irish custom involves gathering flowers on May Eve (or in some places on May day morning) and leaving them in front of the main threshold. It was believed to protect the house from harm or evil.

Photos from President of Ireland / Uachtarán na hÉireann Michael D. Higgins's post 04/30/2021

Photos from President of Ireland / Uachtarán na hÉireann Michael D. Higgins's post

04/18/2021

Harry Potter as #Gaeilge 🧙‍♂️⚡️

@gaylgeoiri

03/24/2021

Beoga - Online Concert - Tickets Now On Sale

Irish Dance Classes Coming to Bishop Hill - Illinois News Now 03/12/2021

Irish Dance Classes Coming to Bishop Hill - Illinois News Now

☘️

https://www.illinoisnewsnow.com/news/local/regionaldailynews-local/irish-dance-classes-coming-to-bishop-hill/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook

Irish Dance Classes Coming to Bishop Hill - Illinois News Now Champagne Academy of Irish Dance are bringing their brand of Irish Dance instruction to Bishop Hill for a 5 week course. According to information provided by John Taylor, the Champagne Academy of Irish Dance will be offering online and in-person classes at the Bishop Hill […]

Five questions (and a playlist!) with Blame Not the Bard | Little Village 03/11/2021

Five questions (and a playlist!) with Blame Not the Bard | Little Village

https://littlevillagemag.com/five-questions-and-a-playlist-with-blame-not-the-bard/

Five questions (and a playlist!) with Blame Not the Bard | Little Village In the fall of 2014, Blame Not the Bard debuted as Jim and the Brix at that year’s Fiddlers Picnic. In the seven years since, through a new guitarist, an album, many Iowa Irish Fests and a pandemic, their love of traditional Irish music is as strong as ever. Andrew Philbrick (vocals and bass), Nik...

02/07/2021

IRISH MUSIC MAGAZINE FACEBOOK LIVE
Presents ST. PATRICK'S DAY AT HOME

17 Concerts From Around The World
on March 17th and Proudly Featuring :

String Loaded (Australia)
https://stringloaded.com.au/
https://www.facebook.com/stringloadedcelticfiddleband/
Start Times @ 9am Ireland, 8pm Australia, 10pm New Zealand, 10am WET, 4am Eastern, 3am Central,.1am Pacific

POLYTROPOS with Oscar West and Rennie Pearson (New Zealand)
www.polytroposmusic.com
Oscar West & Rennie Pearson - Polytropos
Start Times @ 10am Ireland, 11pm New Zealand, 9pm Australia, 11am WET, 5am Eastern, 4am Central and 2am Pacific

Lucie Perier (France)
www.lucieperier.com
https://www.facebook.com/LuciePerierFlute/
Start Times @ 11am Ireland, 10pm Australia, 12 Noon WET, 6am Eastern, 5am Central and 3am Pacific

Conor McGinity (Ireland)
https://m.facebook.com/ConorMcGintyMusic/
Start Times @ 12 Noon Ireland, 11pm Australia, 1pm WET, 7am Eastern, 6am Central and 4am Pacific

The Byrne Brothers (Ireland & USA)
www.thebyrnebrothers.com
https://www.facebook.com/byrnebrothers/
Start Times @ 12.55pm Ireland, 11.55pm Australia, 1.55pm WET, 7.55am Eastern, 6.55am Central and 4.55am Pacific

Meadhbh Walsh (Ireland)
https://m.facebook.com/meadhbhwalshmusic
Start Times @ 1.30pm Ireland, 2.30pm WET, 8.30am Eastern, 7.30am Central, 5.30am Pacific

John Spillane (Ireland)
https://johnspillane.ie/
https://www.facebook.com/john.spillane.musician.ireland/
Start Times @ 2pm Ireland, 3pm WET, 9am Eastern, 8am Central, 6am Pacific and very early in Australia

Maca (Ireland)
https://macaofficial.com/
https://www.facebook.com/macaceol
Start Times @ 3pm Ireland, 4pm WET, 10am Eastern, 9am Central, 7am Pacific and very early in Australia

Bruce Foley & Mary Coogan (USA)
Bruce Foley Music
Start Times @ 4pm Ireland, 5pm WET, 11am Eastern, 10am Central, 8am Pacific and very early in Australia

George Murphy & The Rising Sons (Ireland)
https://www.facebook.com/therisingsonsirl
Start Times @ 5pm Ireland, 6pm WET, 12 Noon Eastern, 11am Central, 9am Pacific and very early in Australia

Doolin' (France)
www.doolin.fr/english/
https://www.facebook.com/doolinmusic/
Start Times @ 6pm Ireland, 7pm WET, 1pm Eastern, 12 Noon Central, 10am Pacific and very early in Australia

Sina Theil (Ireland & Germany)
https://sinatheilmusic.com/
https://www.facebook.com/SinaTheilMusic
Start Times @ 7pm Ireland, 8pm WET, 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, 11am Pacific and very early in Australia

Haley Richardson & Friends (USA)
www.haleyrichardsonmusic.com
https://www.facebook.com/haleyrichardsonmusic/
Start Times @ 8pm Ireland, 9pm WET, 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 12 Noon Pacific and very early in Australia

Elle Marie O' Dwyer (Ireland)
www.ellemarieodwyer.ie
https://www.facebook.com/ElleMarieODwyer/
Start Times @ 9pm Ireland, 10pm WET, 4pm Eastern, 3pm Central, 1pm Pacific and very early in Australia

Mairead Nesbitt (Ireland and USA)
www.maireadnesbittviolin.com
https://www.facebook.com/maireadnesbittcelticviolinist/
Start Times @ 10pm Ireland, 11pm WET, 5pm Eastern, 4pm Central, 2pm Pacific and very early in Australia

Ashley Davis (USA)
www.ashleydavisband.com
https://www.facebook.com/daisyringsmusic/
Start Times @ 11pm Ireland, 12 Midnight WET, 6pm Eastern, 5pm Central, 3pm Pacific and very early in Australia

RUNA (USA & Canada)
https://runamusic.com/
https://www.facebook.com/RUNACelticmusic/
Start Times @ 12 Midnight Ireland, 1am WET, 7pm Eastern, 6pm Central, 4pm Pacific and very early in Australia

For More Details and Event Notifications see our page Events @ Irish Music Magazine official from February 8th.

Bring the Joy of Music to your home this St Patrick's Day with the Gift of Music.

SUPPORT THE MUSICIANS by Donating to
their Concerts and by Ordering Merchandise from their online websites from February 8th through to St Patrick's Day.

Follow IRISH MUSIC MAGAZINE on Facebook @ Irish Music Magazine official
Order your Monthly Magazine & Subscription @ www.irishmusicshopping.com

LET THE MUSIC PLAY THIS ST. PATRICK'S DAY!!!

The enduring traditions of St. Brigid's Day 01/31/2021

The enduring traditions of St. Brigid's Day

The enduring traditions of St. Brigid's Day Imbolc, also known as the Feast of Brigid, celebrates the arrival of longer, warmer days and the early signs of spring on February 1. It is one of the four major "fire" festivals (quarter days, referred to in Irish mythology from medieval Irish texts. The other three festivals on the old Irish calen...

01/15/2021

Champagne Academy of Irish Dance

A special workshop with some amazing fiddlers!

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/february-fiddle-frenzy-2021-registration-132817531813

irishcentral.com 01/06/2021

Nollaig na mBan – Women’s Christmas is celebrated in Ireland today!

Happy Nollaig na mBan!

irishcentral.com Traditionally, every January 6, the women of Ireland, who have worked so hard over Christmas, are celebrated throughout the country on Nollaig na mBan, aka Little Christmas or The Feast of the Epiphany.

12/31/2020

Happy New Year! 🥂🎉

“MAY THE SADDEST DAY OF YOUR FUTURE
BE NO WORSE
THAN THE HAPPIEST DAY OF YOUR PAST.”

Happy New Year from all of us at Irish Fair of Minnesota

12/21/2020

Mythical Ireland

HAPPY WINTER SOLSTICE

It might be overcast and raining here in the Boyne Valley, but that shouldn't prevent us from celebrating the arrival of the shortest day. I would like to wish everyone a very happy Winter Solstice and best wishes for a healthy and happy year ahead.

Attached are some photos from the National Monuments Service showing various views from inside Newgrange on winter solstice. Enjoy them!

Sláinte!
Anthony.

12/13/2020

Blame Not the Bard

It’s been a long year, and we are fast approaching the longest night. This year, we will bring the stories, song, and dance to you as we wait for dawn together.

10/31/2020

Feis

👻🎃🎶☘️

🧟‍♂️HALLOWEEN AT KRISTIN BUTKE🧟‍♀️

The fabulous dancers from The Kristin Butke School of Irish Dance heard the New FEIS App Halloween Track and did this! Fabulous! 🧟‍♂️🧟‍♀️👏🏾👏🏼

All Ireland Champion Garet Zagorski and his class mates had lots of fun making this amazing video! 🎃🎃

Why not make your own spooky video to FEIS App’s New Halloween track?👻

Kristin Butke Irish Dance

10/04/2020

Seachtain na Gaeilge le Energia

Is léir go bhfuil sé tábhachtach 😅

09/18/2020

Champagne Academy of Irish Dance

Come have fun and dance with us! We have online, in studio, and outside classes for ages 3 through adult! Our next session starts September 28th! Check out our 5-week sessions to give a new skill a try! All are Welcome! 💜☘️🎶
ChampagneIrishDance.com
#iowa #youthsports #iowairish
#northliberty #cedarrapids #quadcitites #iowacity #cambridgeillinois

09/13/2020

Riverdance

A “Giganteus” cast is announced for Riverdance: The Animated Adventure.
Lilly Singh, Brendan Gleeson and Aisling Bea join Pierce Brosnan for the feature film which is inspired by the International Stage Show Riverdance and features Bill Whelan’s Grammy Award-winning score.
The film follows an Irish boy named Keegan and a Spanish girl named Moya as they journey into the mythical world of the Megaloceros Giganteus who teach them to appreciate Riverdance as a celebration of life. This is an animated adventure of sight, sound and dance as you’ve never before experienced!
Riverdance: The Animated Adventure is is in post-production and will be delivered later this year. Don't miss a beat - follow Riverdance Movie

07/25/2020

Show your support for Iowa’s own! ☘️

Sunday is the last day to order!

Show your support and order some fun summer wear!

Time to get your CAIDwear Summer 2020! ☘️
We have some fun tshirts and sweet summer tanks!

All orders will be shipped to you directly.

Click here to order: https://pogo.undergroundshirts.com/collections/champagne-academy-of-irish-dance-2

#irishdance #iowairish #iowa #dance #iowacity #quadcities

05/31/2020

🎻🎶☘️

Learn to fiddle with the JA Clair School of Music this summer!

We are currently accepting students for our online summer session. Classes begin June 8, and are "pay what you can" for the summer.

For registration and more information, go to:
bit.ly/summerfiddle

05/26/2020

💜☘️☀️😎

Our 10 Week Summer Session is Open!☀️
Join us! ☘️
Ages 3 years old & up!
STARTS JUNE 8th! 💜
June 8th - August 20
No classes July 3rd - July 11th
Flexible make-up classes available.
Classes will continue to be online via Zoom as we safely transition back to the studio.
Visit champagneirishdance.com to view our schedule!
Studio Location:
North Liberty, Iowa
and
Cambridge, Illinois

#irishdance #irishdancer #irish #dance #iowairish #cedarrapids #iowacity #northliberty #coralville #cambridgeillinois #quadcities #davenport #moline #bettendorf #staysafe #stayactive #havefun

05/23/2020

Eoin McKiernan Library

Virtual music lessons in the Twin Cities 112 years ago! On the bagpipes no less.

From the Minneapolils Tribune, Dec. 30 1908.
"Placing his lips to the telephone receiver, he puckered them into a whistle, and went through the knotty piece note by note... He stopped for breath and then repeated the air. There was an anxious pause..."

irishfolklore.wordpress.com 05/01/2020

The Folklore of May-Day/ Bealtaine

Happy May Day/Bealtaine! 💐☘️

irishfolklore.wordpress.com The 1st of May brings us to the start of summer and one of the most important cross-quarter days (being between the solstices and equinoxes) in the Irish calendar. May-day, like many festivals of i…

04/30/2020

irisharchaeology.ie

Just left our May flowers on the front doorstep. This old Irish custom involves gathering flowers on May Eve (or in some places on May day morning) and leaving them in front of the main threshold. It was believed to protect the house from harm or evil.

04/30/2020

Caitlín Nic Gabhann

Too cute! 🥰🎶💕☘️

❗️OUT-TAKES ❗️
Yesterday was International Dance Day so I decided to try to make a playing/dancing video. Here’s how it went. This is what lock-down looks like in our house!!! And this is actually much more entertaining than the video itself 😄

04/21/2020

Let’s Dance Iowa! ☘️🎶💜

IRISH DANCE ONLINE! ☘️

Did you ever want to try Irish dance? Want to try a new hobby? Did you use to dance and want to get back? Want to help support a local business?
Come dance with us!

-No equipment needed
-No experience needed
-All are welcome!
-5 Week Session OR we have a new DROP-IN option!

Beginner Classes:

Blackbirds 3-6yo
Tuesday 4:30pm
Wednesday 6:15pm

St.Patrick 6-Tweens
Monday 4pm
Tuesday 5:30pm
Wednesday 5:30pm
Thursday 5:15pm

Job of Journeywork Beginner Adults & Teens
Wednesday 6:45pm

More information: champagneirishdance.com then select the "join us" tab.

Hope to see you online!

#irishdancer #dance #iowa #cambridgeillinois #quadcities #cedarrapids #northliberty #iowacity

04/17/2020

Global Irish Session Tune #3 | The Ballydesmond Polka

Iowa’s own, Tara McGovern 🤩☘️🎶💜

OAIM members from a whopping 12 countries (56 musicians) participated in this week's #OAIM50 Tunes Challenge. They played The Ballydesmond Polka at 75% speed...

music.apple.com 03/18/2020

‎Feet of a Dancer (feat. Champagne & McGovern) - Single by Coppers & Brass

A song of hope & love ❤️🎶☘️💜

Feet of a Dancer (feat. Champagne & McGovern) - Single by Coppers & Brass https://music.apple.com/us/album/feet-of-a-dancer-feat-champagne-mcgovern-single/1498917018

music.apple.com ‎Album · 2020 · 1 Song

03/17/2020

Blame Not the Bard

☘️🎶 Get your copy today! 🎶☘️

https://store.cdbaby.com/cd/blamenotthebard

When Blame Not the Bard began, one of our dreams was to play Irish music in a pub on St. Patrick’s Day and to get to share in the depth of this tradition with our community. We looked forward to teaching our friends and neighbors the songs we had come to cherish, and to sharing a bit of our joy as a community.

It didn’t happen the first year. But for four great years we have gotten to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day singing Irish songs with our friends. And next year, we are sure, we will get to do exactly that again. And it will be better than ever, because we’ll experience that joy anew.

We hoped to get you a copy of this album in person, but it seems that will have to wait for now. That’s okay. We are patient! In the meantime, Soundcheck is now available for digital purchase through CDbaby! If you’d like to pick up your copy today, go to:

https://store.cdbaby.com/cd/blamenotthebard

Peace to you all! Watch this space for some fun videos and tunes in the days and weeks to come 🎶 ☘️ 🇮🇪

03/11/2020

Cedar Rapids Public Library

Champagne Academy of Irish Dance

03/06/2020

Eileen Ivers

Hey Eileen here! 🎻🎵
The single from our NEW Album "Scatter the Light" is now available FREE for a limited time. Click the link to grab your download before they are gone. 👉 http://bit.ly/Eileen-Ivers-Free_Download

02/18/2020

Celts

Isle of Skye, Scotland
Photo by @Cpt.saebass on instagram

celticjunction.org 02/17/2020

Deireadh Seachtaine Gaeilge St. Paul /Irish Language Weekend St. Paul

celticjunction.org Irish language weekend for beginners through experienced learners. April 17-20 in St. Paul. $125 when you sign up in advance. Don't miss this opportunity!

02/14/2020

❤️💖💕💘

❤️ Happy Valentine's Day! ❤️

Lá Fhéile Vailintín faoi mhaise duit!

02/02/2020

Áirc Damhsa Dance Club

Happy St. Brigid's Day everyone :)

Videos (show all)

Irish dance lessons make for a great Christmas gift! ☘️🎄☃️🎅Time to sign up for Champagne Academy of Irish Dance's next s...
Make your dreams come true! Learn to Irish dance this summer!Register and info:https://sites.google.com/site/champagneir...

Address


Email [email protected]
Iowa City, IA
52245

General information

PROMOTING IRISH HERITAGE & CULTURE IN IOWA!
Other Schools in Iowa City (show all)
SAFER-SIM UTC SAFER-SIM UTC
2401 Oakdale Blvd
Iowa City, 52242

SAFER-SIM is a Tier 1 University Transportation Center funded by the US DOT. The center uses microsimulation and state-of-the-art driving, bicycling, & pedestrian simulators to develop solutions for safer transportation in the US and globally.

Regina Catholic Education Center Regina Catholic Education Center
2140 Rochester Ave
Iowa City, 52245

Regina Catholic Education Center seeks to build a school community where learners grow in knowledge, self-esteem, spirituality, respect for others, and a sense of social responsibility. We welcome students and families of all religious backgrounds.

UI International Students and Scholars UI International Students and Scholars
1111 University Capitol Centre
Iowa City, 52242

International Student and Scholar Services is a division of the University of Iowa International Programs office

Iowa City Booster Club Pancake Day Iowa City Booster Club Pancake Day
2901 Melrose Ave
Iowa City, 52246

IC Booster Club holds an annual Pancake Day fundraiser for the purpose of supporting the athletic programs at all High schools and Jr. Highs in Iowa City!

Kennedy Swim School Kennedy Swim School
200 6th St.
Iowa City, 52241

Kennedy Swim School - Iowa City, Coralville, North Liberty Swim Lessons - Premier One-on-One Swimming Instruction for 40 Years

The Frank Business Communication Center The Frank Business Communication Center
21 East Market Street, Room C346
Iowa City, 52245

The Frank Center team is here to help students with business writing and design assignments as well as presentation skills. We are currently offering online-only appointments. Book your spot with one of our consultants at http://tippie.mywconline.com!

Melissa's Music Studio Melissa's Music Studio
2530 Aster Ave
Iowa City, 52240

The instructors at Melissa's Music Studio offer affordable, private music lessons on all instruments in Iowa City, Iowa.

Afro American Cultural Center Afro American Cultural Center
303 Melrose Ave
Iowa City, 52242

The Afro American Cultural Center supports University of Iowa students by supplying a "home away from home" feeling that helps them in their development.

Journal of Communication Inquiry Journal of Communication Inquiry
Iowa City, 52242-2004

Journal of Communication Inquiry (JCI) is an interdisciplinary academic forum for critical mass communication studies. http://jci.sagepub.com

Parkview Christian Preschool Parkview Christian Preschool
15 Foster Rd
Iowa City, 52245

Develop in children an understanding of Christ's love and forgiveness. Provide a variety of experiences and materials to enable children to learn and mature. Maintain a caring atmosphere where children are loved and accepted as unique individuals.

Fight Fight Fight for Iowa Fight Fight Fight for Iowa
Iowa City, 52240

This page is devoted to fans of the Iowa Hawkeyes.This page is not affiliated with The University of Iowa. Page produced by Reach Out Marketing, LLC.

Student Life Marketing + Design Student Life Marketing + Design
286 Iowa Memorial Union
Iowa City, 52242