Iowa Law Review

Iowa Law Review

Comments

I request that this online link be taken down for gross misrepresentation of the RTC v Netcom, the issues and the parties in the action. I am one of them, and a UI President's Club member. I don't appreciate being written out of history by the sloppy advocacy of Miss Asp.

The Iowa Law Review is a scholarly publication run by Iowa Law students since 1935 and is dedicated

Since its inception in 1915 as the Iowa Law Bulletin, the Iowa Law Review has served as a scholarly legal journal, noting and analyzing developments in the law and suggesting future paths for the law to follow. Since 1935, students have edited and have managed the Law Review, which is published five times annually. The Law Review ranks high among the top “high impact” legal periodicals in the country, and its subscribers include legal practitioners and law libraries throughout the world.

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 07/18/2023

⚖️ Volume 108, Issue 5 is out now! This Issue features ten Essays from our October 2022 Symposium. 📚

Check out these recently published Essays here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-issue-5

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 07/13/2023

Attention Legal Scholars: We are now accepting proposals for our 2024 Symposium!🎉 Please submit your proposal by August 31, 2023. Submissions will be accepted via email. For more information on submission requirements visit https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/symposia.

Research assistants explore areas of law that spark their interest 06/22/2023

Research assistants explore areas of law that spark their interest During her first-year of law school, Julia Harrison was looking for an opportunity to gain more exposure to business law. After thoroughly enjoying Business Associations, taught by Professor Yockey, she reached out about a research assistantship and was hired for her 2L year.

06/22/2023

Congratulations & welcome to our Vol. 109 student writers! We are so excited to have such an incredible group of students join our team. 🎉

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 05/23/2023

⚖️ Volume 108, Issue 4 is out now! This Issue features six Articles and five Student Notes. 📚

Check out these recently published Student Notes here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-issue-4

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 05/23/2023

✍️ Volume 108, Issue 4 is out now! This Issue features six Articles and five Student Notes. ⚖️

Check out these recently published Articles here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-issue-4

Photos from The University of Iowa College of Law's post 05/03/2023

Congratulations to our Vol. 108 editor-in-chief, Kate Conlow!

04/20/2023

⚖️✍️Check out our latest Iowa Law Review Online piece, “Zauderer and Compelled Editorial Transparency” by Dean Eric Goldman. This piece discusses editorial transparency laws and the potential benefits and consequences for different levels of judicial scrutiny of these laws. This timely Essay can be accessed here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-essays/zauderer-and-compelled-editorial-transparency

04/17/2023

✍️Check out our latest Iowa Law Review Online piece, “A Response to Professor Choi's Purposivism in Tax Law” by Professor Avi-Yonah. You can read this Essay here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-response-pieces/response-professor-chois-beyond-purposivism-tax-law

03/30/2023

Mark your calendars for the All-Journal Information Meeting on April 4th! You will have the opportunity to learn more about the application process and the journal experience from current journal members. See you there!

03/29/2023

👩‍💻 Our Online team has been hard at work! Check out our newly branded website. Same high-quality Articles, just with a new look. 😎 Head to ilr.law.uiowa.edu today!

03/24/2023

We had a blast tonight celebrating transitioning from our Volume 108 Editorial Board to our Volume 109 Board!

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 03/21/2023

✍️ Volume 108, Issue 3 is out now! This Issue features six Articles and five Student Notes. ⚖️

Check out these recently published Student Notes here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-issue-3-0

03/20/2023

Harmonizing Music Theory and Music Law 108 Iowa L. Rev. 1247 (2023) DOWNLOAD PDF Abstract

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 03/20/2023

⚖️ Volume 108, Issue 3 is out now! This Issue features six Articles and five Student Notes. 📚

Check out these recently published Articles here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-issue-3-0

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 03/19/2023

The Volume 108 team is all smiles (and nostalgia) as we finish the last few weeks in our editorial roles before the Volume 109 Board takes over!

03/15/2023

✍️Check out our latest Iowa Law Review Online piece, “Unjust Enrichment: Standing Up For Privacy Rights” by Professor Bernard Chao. You can read this Essay here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-articles/unjust-enrichment-standing-privacy-rights

03/06/2023

💻Check out our latest Iowa Law Review Online piece, “A Response to Rules of Medical Necessity” by Professor Brendan S. Maher. You can read this Response piece here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-response-pieces/response-rules-medical-necessity

03/01/2023

We are so excited to feature our newly appointed Volume 109 Editor in Chief, Jonathan Picado! Here’s a little bit about Jonathan:
- He was born and raised in El Paso, Texas
- Jonathan attended undergraduate and graduate school at the University of Texas in El Paso
- This summer, he will be working for Fried Frank in Washington, D.C.
When asked what he’s most excited for as EIC, Jonathan shared, “I am looking forward to building on the Iowa Law Review’s long history of excellence and academic reputation in the legal community. We have a great team of folks leading Volume 109, and my hope is to contribute solutions to pressing and novel legal issues through our selection of Articles and Notes while preserving the collegial atmosphere the Iowa Law Review is known for at Iowa Law.”

02/27/2023

We are so excited to announce our Volume 109 Editorial Board! Congratulations to this amazing team! 🎉

02/16/2023

The Volume 108 Board of the Iowa Law Review is excited to announce the publication list of our Volume 109 Student Notes! Congratulations to all of our Student Writers!

02/15/2023

⚖️💻Check out our latest Iowa Law Review Online piece, “And Should I Then Presume?: A Response to Carrier and Tushnet’s An Antitrust Framework for False Advertising” by Professor Thomas F. Cotter from University of Minnesota Law School. You can read this Response piece here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/news/2023/02/and-should-i-then-presume-response-carrier-and-tushnets-antitrust-framework-false

01/31/2023

📢📢 Iowa Law Review is opening for submissions this Friday, February 3rd! Submissions will only be accepted via scholastica (https://iowa-law-review.scholasticahq.com/for-authors). For all submission requirements, visit https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/submissions.

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 01/23/2023

🥳 Volume 108, Issue 2 is available now! This issue features six scholarly Articles and five Student Notes. 📖

Check out these recently published Articles here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-issue-2

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 01/23/2023

✍️ Volume 108, Issue 2 is available now! This issue features six scholarly Articles and five Student Notes. ⚖️

Check out these recently published Student Notes here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/volume-108-issue-2

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 01/14/2023

✈️ Some of our Iowa Law Review members spent their winter break in London participating in The University of Iowa College of Law’s London Law Program! Some highlights of their visit included:
- Attending the play “The Witness for the Prosecution” by Agatha Christie, providing a realistic representation of the UK criminal legal system
- Visiting the UK Supreme Court
- Visiting UK Parliament
- Visited the Inner Temple and The Royal Courts of Justice (pictured in the first photo)
- So much more!
They had an amazing trip, but we’re excited to have everyone back in Iowa City for the start of the spring semester this Tuesday! 📚

12/20/2022

Like so many others, Iowa Law Review was sad to learn of the recent passing of President Emeritus Willard "Sandy" Boyd. Boyd served as the University of Iowa's 15th president from 1969 to 1981, returned as a law professor in 1996, and served as interim president from 2002-2003. The Boyd Law Building opened in 1986 in his honor. Additionally, we are honored to have published several of President Boyd's Articles throughout the years, including most recently, Iowa Law Review Centennial: Its Mission, History, and Future, co-authored with Randall P. Bezanson in 2015.

President Boyd's contributions and impact on The University of Iowa College of Law will forever be remembered. We are so grateful for his years of positive impact on our journal and greater community.

You can read his most recent publication with ILR here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/print/volume-100-issue-2/iowa-law-review-centennial-its-mission-history-and-future/

12/11/2022

Our Senior Managing Editor, Paige Roff, recently argued in the Seventh Circuit as a Law Student Practitioner through The University of Iowa College of Law’s Federal Criminal Defense Clinic. We’re so proud of her impressive advocacy on behalf of her client and Iowa Law! ⚖️

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 12/08/2022

⚖️ Huge congrats to all of our Student Writers who completed Appellate Advocacy I but a special shoutout to these four! We are so proud that the top three advocates overall this year were ALL Iowa Law Review Student Writers (Steele, Kameron, and Spencer). Additionally, two of the Top Briefs were written by Steele and Aly! 👏🎉
[Pictured from left to right is Aly Rameshk, Spencer Culver, Kameron Reed, and Steele Kowalczyk.]

11/23/2022

⚖️✍️Check out our latest Iowa Law Review Online piece, “Legacy and Accountability,” by Dean Ian Ayres. This piece “considers the ways that the law can help or hinder the accountability of actors and institutions. It draws two implications from the failure of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg to retire at a time that would have better secured the constitutional right to abortion.” This timely Essay can be accessed here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/online/volume-108/legacy-and-accountability/

Celebrating the 2022 Law Alumni Awards recipients 11/23/2022

Celebrating the 2022 Law Alumni Awards recipients Iowa Law launched the alumni awards program to recognize alumni who have made significant achievements in their careers and in their service to the College of Law. This year's recipients are...

11/22/2022

📖📚Check out our latest Iowa Law Review Online piece responding to a Print piece published in Vol 106, Issue 3. This Response is written by The University of Iowa College of Law’s very own Professor Robert T. Miller and can be accessed here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/online/volume-107/market-practices-and-the-awarenessuse-problem-in-insider-trading-law-a-response-to-professor-versteins-mixed-motives-insider-trading/

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 11/10/2022

🎉 Volume 108, Issue 1 is available now! This issue features six scholarly Articles and five Student Notes. ✍️

Swipe through the images to learn more about these recently published Student Notes and follow this link to read the full pieces: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/print/volume-108-issue-1

Photos from Iowa Law Review's post 11/09/2022

🎉 Volume 108, Issue 1 is available now! This issue features six scholarly Articles and five Student Notes. ✍️

Swipe through the images to learn more about these recently published Articles and follow this link to read the full pieces: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/print/volume-108-issue-1

11/03/2022

We are saddened to learn of Professor Dmitry Karshtedt’s passing. We were lucky to publish his scholarship in Volumes 104 and 106 of the Iowa Law Review, including The More Things Change: Improvement Patents, Drug Modifications, and the FDA (https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/print/volume-104-issue-3/the-more-things-change-improvement-patents-drug-modifications-and-the-fda/) and Nonobviousness: Before and After (https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/print/volume-106-issue-4/nonobviousness-before-and-after/).

10/14/2022

It’s not too late to join us! Iowa Law Review is hosting our Vol. 108 Symposium “The Future of Relgious Freedom” TOMORROW, Oct. 14th, at Boyd Law Building! Register to attend any (or all!) events at the link (https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/symposia/upcoming-symposium/) or join us on Zoom (no registration required). Can’t wait to see you there and hear from legal experts coming to Iowa City from all over the country! ⚖️

10/13/2022

We are honored to introduce the third panel of our Vol. 108 Symposium “The Future of Religious Freedom” titled “Religious Freedom Through the Lenses of Legal Theories.” This panel will feature Professors Paul Gowder, Elizabeth Sepper, James D. Nelson, & Nelson Tebbe. Please register at the link below to join us in person (Room 225 from 2:50-4:00 PM this Friday, 10/14) or join us on Zoom (no registration required).

To read more about our Panel I speakers and to register for our October 14th Symposium, follow this link: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/symposia/upcoming-symposium/

10/13/2022

We are thrilled to introduce the second panel of our Vol. 108 Symposium “The Future of Religious Freedom” titled “Doctrine & Procedure as Mechanisms to Shift Social & Political Issues.” This panel will feature Professors Micah Schwartzman, B. Jessie Hill, & Andrew Koppelman. Please register at the link below to join us in person (Room 225 from 10:30-11:50 AM this Friday, 10/14) or join us on Zoom (no registration required).

To read more about our Panel I speakers and to register for our October 14th Symposium, follow this link: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/symposia/upcoming-symposium/

10/12/2022

We are so excited to introduce the first panel of our Vol. 108 Symposium “The Future of Religious Freedom” titled “Doctrinal Questions & Supreme Court Decisions.” This panel will feature Professors Stephanie Barclay, Nathan S. Chapman, Michael A. Helfand, & Christopher C. Lund. Please register at the link below to join us in person (Room 225 from 9:00-10:20 AM this Friday, 10/14) or join us on Zoom (no registration required).
To read more about our Panel I speakers and to register for our October 14th Symposium, follow this link: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/symposia/upcoming-symposium/

11/23/2019

Volume 105, Issue 1 is now live! Read and access here: https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/print/volume-105-issue-1/

Want your business to be the top-listed Law Practice in Iowa City?
Click here to claim your Sponsored Listing.

Telephone

Address


190 Boyd Law Building
Iowa City, IA
52242

Other Iowa City law practices (show all)
Foster Law Office Foster Law Office
1519 S Gilbert Street
Iowa City, 52240

We represent clients with a wide range of legal issues, focusing on criminal defense, personal injur

Student Legal Services Student Legal Services
G115 Iowa Memorial Union
Iowa City, 52242

Know your rights! Student Legal Services offers FREE legal advice to any University of Iowa student.

Jeff Edberg Real Estate Broker Jeff Edberg Real Estate Broker
2346 Mormon Trek Boulevard
Iowa City, 52246

Experience counts! All the help you need with Iowa City area real estate.

Journal of Gender, Race & Justice Journal of Gender, Race & Justice
186 Boyd Law Building
Iowa City, 52242

The purpose of this Journal page is to get the word out about upcoming events for the Journal. We we

Ridgewood Law PLC Ridgewood Law PLC
PO Box 726
Iowa City, 52244

Cutting-edge full service experienced business law firm offering litigation, transactions, construct

Hoefer Flaming PLLC Hoefer Flaming PLLC
332 S. Linn Street , Suite 300
Iowa City, 52240

We are a team of legal professionals who believe that people with injuries and disabilities deserve

DCA lucky Dollars $ DCA lucky Dollars $
Des Moines
Iowa City

DCA Lucky Dollars.page 🇺🇲$ ___Just out last week Monday. Hey people! this news just out

Iowa City Notary Iowa City Notary
Iowa City, 52246

Mobile Notary Services for eastern Iowa

Michelle McCoy Michelle McCoy
Iowa City

Federal Government Grant

Larew Law Office Larew Law Office
504 E Bloomington Street
Iowa City, 52245

For more than thirty years, Jim Larew has had the privilege of providing legal services to Iowans th

Malott Law, PLC Malott Law, PLC
1934 Boyrum Street
Iowa City, 52240

Malott Law, PLC, counsels clients through a wide variety of immigration issues (se habla español).

Leff Law Firm, LLP Leff Law Firm, LLP
222 S. Linn Street
Iowa City, 52240

Leff Law Firm, L.L.P. is a general practice law firm representing clients throughout eastern Iowa.