The Thomas Balch Library is a history and genealogy library located in Leesburg, Virginia. The library, owned and operated by the town of Leesburg, serves as a designated Underground Railroad research site and has an active research program.HistoryThe library was incorporated in 1918.
The architect for the library was Waddy Butler Wood. In 1922, the Thomas Balch Library was constructed in Leesburg, Virginia as a memorial to historian Thomas Balch, a Leesburg native. Thomas Willing Balch (1866-1927) and Edwin Swift Balch (1856-1927), sons of Thomas Balch, originally endowed the subscription library. The Library is part of the Leesburg Historic District.The Thomas Balch Library operated for fifty years under a private Board of Trustees. The library was staffed by volunteers and part-time employees. In 1960 the library dropped its subscription and became a free, though segregated, public library. It was desegregated in 1965. In 1973, the Loudoun County Public Library system was established. The Thomas Balch Library joined as a full service public library branch in 1974, alongside the Purcellville, Purcellville Bookmobile and Sterling libraries.In 1994, ownership of the Thomas Balch Library was transferred from the Loudoun County Public Library system to the Town of Leesburg. Under the Town of Leesburg, the library began operating as a history and genealogy library. The Martin L. Cook photograph collection was acquired by the library in 2008. Cook was commissioned after training at the Tuskegee Army Flying School and went on to serve in the U.S. Navy in the Department of Defense as an aeronautical engineer.
This National Trust Historic Site features a stately 1804 mansion, beautiful rolling farmland, and a 4.5 acre terraced garden. Please purchase tickets in Carriage House for guided Mansion Tour ($15 for adults) or for the Self-Guided Grounds Pass ($10)
Update interested parties about the National Museum of American Religion and make available items of interest concerning the American religious experience
The Loudoun Sampler Guild is a group of sampler enthusiasts based in northern Virginia. We meet monthly for lectures, needlework classes and workshops.
Our mission: The George C. Marshall International Center brings to life the timeless values of selfless service and unwavering integrity to develop visionary leaders worldwide.
A museum dedicated to preserving and sharing the long history of Loudoun County
The Marshall House, also known as Dodona Manor, is the restored home and gardens of General George C. Marshall. Located in historic Leesburg, Dodona Manor was George & Katherine Marshall's residence from 1941 until the General's death in 1959.
Encompassing over 1,000 acres of gardens, fields, lawns and wooded areas, Morven Park hosts over 250,000 visitors each year who attend equestrian events, special activities, guided tours and educational programs.
The only Museum of Hounds and Hunting in North America. Art, Artifacts, Memorabilia, books, Huntsmen's Room, hunting clothing, etc. Please view our website for more information at www.MHHNA.org.