The Concord Bookshop

Last Christmas in Paris

hazelgaynor.com

Yes! This event with Heather Webb and Hazel Gaynor is one short week from Thursday!

Join us on October 5 at 7pm, as we step back to August 1914, the beginning of WWI. Close friends - Evie at home in England, and Thomas away at war - share their greatest hopes and fears through a series of letters. Fans of "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" will love this book!

Meet the authors, engage in conversation, and get your book signed. Free and open to the public!

hazelgaynor.com

When you're lost in a good book, even a gnarly old tree root makes a great perch!

Where's the craziest place you've been lost in a book?

(reader submitted photo, thank you!)

September 22 - Happy birthday to Bilbo and Frodo! THE HOBBIT was published 80 years ago this week.

Who is your favorite character, and why? Hero? Villain? (we don't judge your choices, just trying to start a conversation!)

Are you fascinated by the PBS Ken Burns' documentary THE VIETNAM WAR?

Pair this with Laura Harrington's novel A CATALOG OF BIRDS, which, in beautiful prose, examines the lasting impact of the war on a young veteran and his family.

Meet the author here at the Bookshop on Thursday, September 21 at 7pm for a free book talk and Q&A.

Laugh of the day -- from our friends at Shelf Awareness and Otto Book Store:

-- "Did you hear about the library that fell into the ocean?"
-- "It caused a title wave!"

seating opens at 2:30 for this "don't miss" event this afternoon. Barbara Lynn-Davis presents her novel, CASANOVA'S SECRET WIFE, with special guests who will evoke the mood and music of the setting!

Step back in time to Venice in the 1700s in this well-researched historic fiction which shares the story of the love affair between Giacomo Casanova and 14-year-old Caterina Capreta ... and its heartbreaking aftermath

Step back in time to Venice in the 1700s in this well-researched historic fiction which shares the story of the love affair between Giacomo Casanova and 14-year-old Caterina Capreta ... and its heartbreaking aftermath

If the wet weather has interfered with your youngsters' plans for the day, we have a solution --> Bring the family to the Cary Memorial Library at 11am to meet author Josh Funk as we celebrate the release of his newest picture book, IT'S NOT JACK AND THE BEANSTALK.

Josh will read his newest title along with some of his ealier stories including LADY PANCAKE AND SIR FRENCH TOAST and PIRASAURS. There will be an opportunity to purchase books and have them signed!

This is going to be a very special event - Sunday, 9/17 at 3pm - Concord-based author Barbara Lynn-Davis talks about her novel, CASANOVA'S SECRET WIFE, followed by beautiful songs from the book performed by Wellesley College Collegium Musicum Director Andrew Arceci with Carrie Cheron, vocalist.

We love award season - the excitement of the announcements, the additions to our reading lists, the hours spent in happy enjoyment reading and discussing the contenders.

National Book Foundation announced the longlist for the 2017 Award for Fiction, they are:

-- Elliot Ackerman, "Dark at the Crossing"
-- Daniel Alarcón, "The King Is Always Above the People: Stories"
-- Charmaine Craig, "Miss Burma"
-- Jennifer Egan, "Manhattan Beach"
-- Lisa Ko, "The Leavers"
-- Min Jin Lee, "Pachinko"
-- Carmen Maria Machado, "Her Body and Other Parties: Stories"
-- Margaret Wilkerson Sexton, "A Kind of Freedom"
-- Jesmyn Ward, "Sing, Unburied, Sing"
-- Carol Zoref, "Barren Island"

Videos (show all)

Telephone

Address


65 Main St
Concord, MA
01742

Opening Hours

Monday 9:30am - 6pm
Tuesday 9:30am - 6pm
Wednesday 9:30am - 6pm
Thursday 9:30am - 9pm
Friday 9:30am - 6pm
Saturday 9:30am - 5pm
Sunday 12pm - 5pm
Other Concord book stores (show all)
Shop at Walden Pond Shop at Walden Pond
915 Walden St
Concord, 01742

The Thoreau Society Shop at Walden Pond is located across the street from Walden Pond, where world-famous author Henry David Thoreau, wrote his classic WALDEN OR LIFE IN THE WOODS. Visit us on your next trip, and discover Thoreau Country.

The World of Bliss (a novel) The World of Bliss (a novel)
199 Sudbury Rd
Concord, 01742

A fun read about adventure, legal snafus, scam artists, a Russian mafiioso, and Steve Bliss' love for a beautiful bank teller. Go to www.lulu.com.

Barefoot Books Concord Studio Barefoot Books Concord Studio
89 Thoreau St
Concord, 01742

The Barefoot Books Concord Studio is a creative place where families can come to explore Barefoot books and experience the stories coming to life through a dynamic array of creative programs, events and classes.

Barrow Bookstore Barrow Bookstore
79 Main St
Concord, 01742

Specializing in Concord authors and history, children's books and literature, the Barrow Bookstore also has a general selection of used and rare titles.